What happens when a user sends stop to my toll free number?
Can a user re-subscribe once he/she sent stop?
The Opt-out flow for US toll free numbers is mandated by the US carriers and it is as follows:
- A user sends the word 'STOP' to the toll free number.
- The carrier sends the following outbound message to the user: 'NETWORK MSG: You replied with the word "stop" which blocks all texts sent from this number. Text back "unstop" to receive messages again.'
- Any subsequent MT messages sent from the toll free number will fail with error code 9 - 'Illegal Number - you tried to send a message to a blacklisted phone number. That is, the user has already sent a STOP opt-out message and no longer wishes to receive messages from you.'
- If the customer wishes to re-subscribe to the service, he/she can send a new message to the Toll Free number with the word 'UNSTOP'.
- User 'STOP' and 'UNSTOP' requests are forwarded back to customers.