What is the North American Numbering Plan?


What countries are in the North American Numbering Plan (NANP)?

Applies To

  • NANP
  • North America


NANP stands for the North American Numbering Plan and is the numbering plan that includes 25 distinct regions in 20 countries that are mostly all in North America, and include the Caribbean and the US territories.

Not all North American countries participate in the NANP. The following countries are included in the NANP:

  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Grenada
  • Guam
  • Jamaica
  • Montserrat
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Puerto Rico
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sint Maarten
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • United States
  • United States Virgin Islands
Was this article helpful?
2 out of 3 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request